Current awareness using social media

This post is part of 23 Things for Professional Development.

I’ve been a Twitter user since 3rd March 2009.  At first, I found it hard to get into using Twitter, as I found having it running in the background was distracting, but then I would forget to log in often enough to feel that I was part of the conversation.  This changed when I got a smartphone later that year, and now I have a variety of Twitter apps that make it easy for me to dip in to Twitter several times a day, or to break up a difficult piece of work such as writing a report.

I use Twitter to develop informal connections with other library and information people, and it’s lovely to to go events and meet some of them in real life at last!  It’s also useful for asking questions about how other people and libraries do certain things, and I ask for this feedback as well as using JISC mailing list and contacts within my organisation when developing new policies and procedures.

I’m a big fan of RSS and use Google Reader as my aggregator.  Here are some great sites that I follow in this way:

Andy Priestner: Libreaction

Jenica Rogers: Attempting Elegance

Harvard Business Review’s Management Tip of the Day

When I find a post I want to make a note of for future reference, I save it to my Delicious bookmarks.  This system works well for me, which I think it’s been hard for me to find much to love about Pushnote.  It’s a site which allows me to rate and share my favourites, but I already do this in both directions through Google Reader and Twitter – highlighting sites I’ve found useful and picking up other people’s recommendations.

It’s always good to know that there are other sites out there for sharing this kind of information, so I’ve learned something new this week, even though I don’t expect to use it right now.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: cpd23 final reflection « Laura's Dark Archive

Leave a Reply

