Applying for jobs and volunteering to get experience

This post is part of 23 Things for Professional Development.

Thing 21 is all about promoting yourself in job applications and at interview. Although I have quite a lot of experience of these processes, I found that I wasn’t comfortable with the idea of publishing these details on the web (as laid out in the Thing 21 instructions).

Recently, I had a similar experience with my Chartership portfolio.  When you submit your portfolio for assessement, you are asked if you are willing to make your document available for others to see.  I opted out of that because I felt that some parts of my portfolio, especially my personal SWOT analysis, were things I wanted to keep private (or at least limit the audience to just my assessors!).

However, I promise that I am doing things like constantly revising my CV and I hope this will satisfy the requirements for this Thing!

Thing 22 encourages us to consider the value of volunteering to get experience.  At this stage of my career, I think this has evolved from volunteering to do library work without pay to offering to take on further professional duties such as serving on committees and working groups.

I am currently involved in committees such as the Oxford Libraries’ Web 2.0 Working Party, an Aleph working party which is involved in fine-tuning some circulation settings on our new ILS following its launch in July, the Committee of College Librarians and the University of Oxford LGBT Steering Group.

I like being involved in groups and activities that broaden my professional awareness beyond the horizons of my own workplace. I think this is especially important in a federal organisation such as the University of Oxford.

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the post, Laura. This is so true – on a programme like PDSIP, part of the assesment of candidates looks very much at what you’ve done, and how well you talk about it; increasingly being able to promote yourself is so vital to coming across as a good candidate that its worth investing time in doing so. We also think joining and more importantly, participating in groups and societies are great, because it demonstrates an ability to work with other as well as identify your own interests and skills.

  2. Pingback: cpd23 final reflection « Laura's Dark Archive

Leave a Reply

